FIGHT FLAB: Lift To Lose Fitness & Nutrition, West Sedona & Village of Oak Creek

 

flabFLAB. Was there ever a more repugnant four letter word?  It conjures up images of loose, sagging, floppy flesh with no definition.  And while flab can take over even the thinnest of bodies, carrying extra weight makes it all the more prominent.

Oh, you know what I’m talking about.  Ladies!  Are your inner thighs intimately connected even though you are standing with your feet 30 inches apart?  Are your buns resting comfortably near the back of your knees? Do your upper arms flap in the wind?  

Gentlemen, stop that snickering at once, as you’re about to get yours.  Do you have to lean 45% degrees to the side in order to see the shoes you are wearing?  When taking a selfie (don’t deny you take selfies), do you see one man in the photo, yet a half dozen chins?  Are your pectorals looking a bit less chiseled and a lot more…wilted?

If you answered yes to the above questions, then flab is in action (or more accurately, inaction) on your body.  The solution: strength-training.  Building muscle firms, fills in and even gives the impression of lifting saggy areas.  I completely changed my physique when I embraced weightlifting and made it the bulk of my workouts.  You can, too.

Start by ditching unrealistic expectations. Skin loses elasticity with time and aging.  If you are 70, your arms will not look like they did at 25, I don’t care how many bicep curls and tricep dips you perform.  Building muscle won’t get rid of loose, aging skin, but it will certainly improve the appearance of it.

Next, acknowledge that all the cardio in the world is not going to sculpt your body. It certainly is a healthy endeavor and can be a valuable tool for weight loss, but it’s not going to get rid of flab.  

Third, know that carrying extra fat on your body will limit visible results.  Pair clean eating with strength-training and you get to watch your body transform.

Now the fun stuff:  Lifting weights.  I recommend compound lifts (exercises involving more than one muscle group):  squats, deadlifts, chest presses,  rows, planks- all  favorites of mine. No idea what any of those are?  Find a quality trainer or join a group exercise class where proper form is strictly enforced.  

Aim to lift 3-4 times per week.  If muscles are sore, allow them to recover before working them again.  

Progression is key. If your lifts feel easy, time to take it up a notch.  Options:  Increase the weight you are lifting (my favorite).  Or, keep the weight the same but slow down the lowering phase to 3-5 seconds.  Adding volume can also increase the difficulty.  I’ll occasionally throw a high-rep workout into my week and my word, do I feel it the next day.

Ladies, don’t worry about bulking up.  It takes seriously heavy lifting to build bowling ball biceps and gargantuan quads.  If you start seeing more definition than you are comfortable with, lighten the weight and increase the reps so you’re building muscle endurance vs. mass.

Strength-training is the most effective weapon available to fight flab, and a strong body is a healthy body.  Now bust out a set of  100 lb. sumo squats.  

2 thoughts on “FIGHT FLAB: Lift To Lose Fitness & Nutrition, West Sedona & Village of Oak Creek

  1. Thank you Catherine. My arms and skin are not real flabby, but I am still trying to bulk up some muscle, not like a younger man would but to add tone and some definition. I do squats, curls with weights that give me resistance but are not so heavy I am not using good technique or form. I don’t fear the holiday meal, drink lots of water and stay away from the chips dips and candies. I really wish I had taken your training. I would probably have learned more from you than a lot of people. Thank you, again.

    Like

Leave a comment